How long is lightning?

Cloud to ground lightning bolts are no more than a few miles in length at most. However, some cloud to cloud lightning, called megaflashes, can be much longer. The current record happened on March 4, 2019, over northern Argentina, when a bolt 440 miles long and lasting 16.73 seconds occurred.