Is it possible to have a pet sloth?

Legally, you may own a sloth in certain states in the US. Logistically, the consensus across most reputable websites is that sloths do not make good pets. They require significant care, expensive habitats, closely regulated diet, and their temperament is not very friendly towards humans.