Where do cashew nuts grow?

cashews are not actually nuts, but rather fruits from the cashew tree, a large evergreen tree native to the tropical regions of Brazil. The tree produces red flowers, which in turn produce fleshy yellow and red oval structures resembling apples. From these the cashews are harvested.