Are elephant ear plants poisonous?

Although elephant ears are not as toxic as Dieffenbachia, it’s a good idea to be careful, especially if you have young children or pets. The leaves and stems are the most toxic parts of the plants. Elephant ear poisoning is rarely fatal, unless large amounts are eaten.