Can turtles eat onions?

Onions, garlic and shallots are not suitable for turtles. Also avoid offering your turtle processed foods, such as crackers, chocolates, chips or breads. ... Your turtle will not starve from missing a meal or two, but inappropriate food items may cause illness or death.