How many calories should a dog eat?

The answer depends on the size and activity level of the dog. Most adult dogs need 25 to 30 calories per pound to achieve and maintain a healthy weight. Overweight dogs live shorter lives and are prone to developing joint problems so it's a good idea to keep your dog's weight under control.