What's the difference between dressing and sauce?

A sauce is typically a cooked liquid that is frequently reduced or thickened to intensify its flavor or texture. A dressing normally incorporates oil or mayonnaise in combination with other liquids and seasonings to create a suspension usually without any need for cooking during its preparation.