What side of the aluminum foil goes down?

Since aluminum foil has a shiny side & dull side, when cooking foods wrapped or covered with aluminum foil, the shiny side should be down, facing the food, and the dull side up. This is because the shiny side is more reflective and so will reflect more of the radiant heat than the duller side

---

it doesn't matter. Since the exact same material makes up both sides, they will perform precisely the same way.