Where did yogurt originate?

The origins of yogurt are unknown, but it is thought to have been invented in Mesopotamia around 5000 BC. But really, it originated with bacteria and milk.

---

The exact origins of yogurt are unknown, but it was probably invented by Neolithic people in Central Asia and Mesopotamia around 5000 BC, when the first milk-producing animals were domesticated.