Who invented salami?

It's unknown when the first salami Was invented. In Roman times, they belonged to a group of food called salsum, meaning “salted.” Even in prehistoric times, salt was known to be an indispensible way to preserve meat; salt naturally expels water and blocks the proliferation of bacteria.