What are alkaline phosphate?

Alkaline phosphatase, or basic phosphatase, is a homodimeric protein enzyme of 86 kilodaltons. Each monomer contains five cysteine residues, two zinc atoms and one magnesium atom crucial to its catalytic function, and it is optimally active at alkaline pH environments.