What does b. n. s. f. railroad stand for?

BNSF was created Sept. 22, 1995, from the merger of Burlington Northern, Inc. (parent company of Burlington Northern Railroad) and Santa Fe Pacific Corporation (parent company of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway).