Where did the word hillbilly come from?

Hillbilly is Scottish in origin. Their term "hill-folk" referred to people who preferred isolation from the greater society, and "billy" meant "comrade" or "companion". The words "hill-folk" and "Billie" were combined and related to militant Presbyterians.