Does the sun rise in the east in the southern hemisphere?

The rotation of the earth is responsible for the apparent rising and setting of the Sun. Since the Northern and Southern hemispheres are part of the Earth sphere, they rotate in the same direction. Therefore, the Sun rises in the East in both hemispheres.