What is it called to be afraid of the dark?

The fear of the dark is called night phobia. It is also called nyctophobia, scotophobia, lygophobia as well as achluophobia. It is most common in toddlers and children. The best way to prevent it in children without wasting electricity is to plug in a nightlight near them when they are in bed.