Tell me the history of san diego?

A fort and mission were established in 1769, which gradually expanded into a settlement under first Spanish and then Mexican rule. San Diego officially became part of the U.S. in 1848, and the town was named the county seat of San Diego County when California was granted statehood in 1850.