What was going on in nineteen eighty three?

A lot happened in 1983. Here are just a few: Civil War in Zimbabwe. Richter scale 5.2 earthquake in New York. Michael Jackson hit, Billie Jean. Star Wars Return of the Jedi. First flight of US Space Shuttle Challenger. And, under it all, the Cold War, with its threat of nuclear conflict, continued.