Does aloe need sunlight?

Aloe vera plants will suffer unless they receive an adequate amount of light. They require a high light level, which you can achieve by positioning the plant within 3 feet of an unshaded south- or west-facing window. 6 to 8 hours of direct sun is best, may tolerate some light shade at mid-day.