What is the delta?

The term "the delta" typically refers to the enormous delta at the mouth of the Mississippi River, just south of New Orleans. But it can accurately be used to describe any land created by a river hitting a slower or still body of water and dumping the silt it was carrying.

---

In math, a delta is the difference between to values. In geography, it is the area where a river meets the ocean formed by the silt in the water being dumped as the water slows down

---

A river delta is a landform created by the deposition of sediment as water leaves the river's mouth and enters slower-moving or stagnant water. Deltas are usually found where a river enters an ocean, sea, estuary, lake, or reservoir.

---

A river delta is a landform created by the deposition of sediment as water leaves the river's mouth and enters slower-moving or stagnant water. Deltas are usually found where a river enters an ocean, sea, estuary, lake, or reservoir.