Do hedgehogs shoot there quills?

When threatened, the hedgehog raises its quills upright in a crisscross pattern, making its body pointy and sharp. A hedgehog's quills can fall out or break off, but the hedgehog cannot shoot its quills to defend itself. In Europe, people consider hedgehogs to be friends of backyards and gardens.