Why is it called cornish hen?

In America it was always known as Indian Game until 1905 when the American Poultry Association passed a motion to rename it Cornish Indian Game. Due to confusion caused by implying the breed came from India, and unpopularity of Game in the name, it was renamed to simply the Cornish in 1910.