What makes a pepper spicy?

The “hot” in hot peppers is due to capsaicin (C18h27nO3), a colorless, odorless oil-like compound found in the fruit of a plant that is a close relative of the tomato. Capsaicin is primarily found in the membrane that holds the seeds.