What is the skull sensor?

What is the skull sensor? Sculk sensors detect vibrations in a 8 block spherical radius around it. Vibrations are caused by various events, such as a player walking, placing or breaking blocks, gliding with elytra, items falling on the ground, a piston extending or a wet wolf shaking itself off.