Do sweet potatoes grow underground?

Yes, sweet potatoes are a root vegetable and they grow underground.

---

Sweet potatoes are tubers and grow in the soil. They do not have any underground farms, or cities under the earth with moleman minions to serve them, however. It's not that kind of underground. Just in the soil.