What is heavens to murgatroyd mean?

A mild oath, of American origin from the mid 20th century. The expression was popularized by the cartoon character Snagglepuss - a regular on the Yogi Bear Show in the 1960s. The expression is a variant of the earlier 'heavens to Betsy'.