How old is the egyptian language?

The term "Archaic Egyptian" is sometimes reserved for the earliest use of hieroglyphs, from the late 4th through the early 3rd millennia BC. Old Egyptian is dated from the oldest known complete sentence discovered in the tomb of Seth-Peribsen (dated c. 2690 BC).