What is a quantum torpedo?

A torpedo that both does and does not explode. But, more seriously, the quantum torpedo is a fictional weapon in the Star Trek universe. It's an improvement over the photon torpedo in the same way that a hydrogen bomb is an improvement over the atomic bomb.