Why are elephants ears so big?

Elephants cannot sweat like humans do. When the temperature of the elephant's blood is greater than the temperature of his surroundings, heat is released from the ears. Also, as elephants flap their ears back and forth, they create a light breeze that can speed up the cooling process.