Why was cam newton cut from the patriots?

The Patriots cut Newton as they began paring their roster to the league-mandated 53 players before Tuesday’s deadline. The move allows the rookie Mac Jones, who excelled in camp and the preseason, to start in Week 1 against the Miami Dolphins on Sept. 12.