What is a c. v. c. e. word?

C V C e words are words that contain a consonant, vowel, consonant, and then the letter e. These words can be tricky because the “e” is silent. Not only is the e silent, but the vowel that is between the two consonants becomes a long vowel. Examples: Dice, bike, brace, or flute.