Where are most almonds grown?

Eat an almond anywhere in the world and chances are that it was grown in the Golden State. California produces 82% of the globe's almonds, harvesting about 800,000 acres of the tree nut across a 400-mile stretch from northern Tehama County to southern Kern County.