What is the jim crow era?

A period of racial segregation enforced by state and local law. Started during Civil War reconstruction in late 1800’s and lasted through the 1960’s Civil Rights Movement.

---

Jim Crow laws were state and local laws that enforced racial segregation in the Southern United States.