What animal was used as a diplomatic gift?

In 2013, China loaned Canada two giant pandas for 10 years, as a sign of warmer diplomatic relations between the two countries. One of the famous instances of China's 'Panda diplomacy' was when it gifted two pandas to US President Richard Nixon and wife Pat during their trip in 1972.