Is a pumpkin a fruit or vegetable?

Although you may think of pumpkins as a vegetable, these squashes, are indeed fruits. Pumpkin, along with all other squashes, should be considered fruits rather than vegetables. Botanists don't categorize fruits and vegetables by whether they taste sweet or savory: it's all about the anatomy.