Where does rice come from?

Today, the majority of all rice produced comes from China, India, Indonesia, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Vietnam, Thailand, Myanmar, Philippines, and Japan. Asian farmers account for 92% of the world's total rice production. Rice is the seed of the grass species Oryza sativa or Oryza glaberrima.