What is the most numerous animal in the world?

The Encyclopedia Britannica states that: Humans are likely the most numerous species of mammal on Earth at the moment. Having reached some 7 billion in 2011. The only species that may come close to (or exceed) us in numbers are the brown rat (Rattus norvegicus) and house mouse (Mus domesticus).