When did the united states declare independence from england?

The American Revolution began April 19, 1775. The Continental Congress decided to declare independence on July 2, 1776. The Continental Congress approved the final wording of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, which became the date that was included on the Declaration of Independence.