What is the series the act about?

The Hulu original series "The Act" is based on a true crime story about a mother and daughter, Dee Dee and Gypsy Rose Blanchard. Dee Dee fabricates a story of her daughter being chronically ill from birth to benefit from donations and charities. The story eventually leads to murder.