Do trees communicate?

In a way they do. Not like us. They will compete against other growing trees for sunlight, especially in a jungle or a canopy environment. Competition is a form of communication

---

Some scientists have experimentally registered a type of communication between plants and trees in forests. There is unproven experimental evidence that trees signal distress from fire and other damage, in the form of weak electrical signals through their root system.