What part of the pig does a ham hock come from?

A ham hock or pork knuckle is the joint between the tibiaand the metatarsals of the foot of a pig, where the foot was attached to the hog's leg. It is the portion of the leg that is neither part of the ham proper nor the ankle or foot, but rather the extreme shank end of the leg bone.

---

The ham hock also known as pork knuckle is the joint between the tibia and fibula and the metatarsals of the foot.