When can you get rid of a puppy?

The recommended age for separating puppies from their litter is 6 to 8 weeks, according to Dr. David W. Reinhard, a consulting veterinarian for Nationwide pet insurance. Other professionals say up to 12 weeks is the proper time to allow for socialization.