Why is nine eleven so important?

On September 11, 2001, a series of terrorist attacks were made on the United States by al-Qaeda. These attacks involved crashing passenger airliners into the two World Trade Center towers, the Pentagon, and a field in Pennsylvania resulting in roughly 3000 deaths.