Why is it called tommy john surgery?

On September 25, 1974, Major league pitcher Thomas Edward John, Jr was the first person to have the permanently damaged ulnar collateral ligament in his pitching arm replaced with a tendon from his right forearm in an operation now known as Tommy John surgery.