What does the recon scanner do in fortnite?

The Recon Scanner is a Rare Explosive Weapon introduced in Season 7. While it can deal minor damage, its main function is the scanning projectile it launches. This projectile marks all Containers and Opponents and stays active for 15 seconds once fired