Can the solar system be destroyed?

Prevailing theory is that when our sun burns all of its hydrogen fuel, it will expand to a red giant, engulfing the first three or four planets. After that it will shrink back to a white dwarf star. We, of course, will all be dead. This is about 5 billion years from now.