What is a conical strainer?

Conical Strainers are temporary devices for mechanically removing unwanted solids from liquid, gas or steam lines by means of a perforated or wire mesh straining element. Temporarily used in pipelines to protect pumps, meters, control valves, steam traps, regulators and other process equipment.