How did green lantern get his powers?

pilot Hal Jordan found the wreckage of an alien space ship. The dying alien, Abin Sur, explained that he was a member of the Green Lantern Corps, an organization of beings from across the cosmos armed with power rings fueled by all the willpower in the universe.