What were the township ax?

If you refer to New Jersey and US colonial history, then The Township Act of 1798 is an Act passed by the New Jersey Legislature on February 21, 1798. It formally incorporated 104 municipalities in 13 counties in the state of New Jersey. It set out the format for government of townships.