What does the movie title seven pounds mean?

The title "Seven Pounds" refers to the Shakespearean pound-of-flesh metaphor, meaning a figurative debt that needs to be paid back. Smith plays Ben Thomas, a man who feels the need to do good things in order to compensate for a tragic past event.