What are pestos?

Pesto is chopped basil mixed with olive oil, used as a spread for italian bread or as a topping for pasta.

---

Pesto, or Pesto alla Genovese; is a sauce originating in Genoa, the capital city of Liguria, Italy. It traditionally consists of crushed garlic, European pine nuts, coarse salt, basil leaves, and hard cheese such as Parmigiano-Reggiano or Pecorino Sardo, all blended with olive oil.